

AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE 4th July 2015

GARRARD'S HORSE & HOUND

Fabulous Storm Wins Winter Cup In Boilover

By Neil Brown

In the Group 1 boilover of the year Reggie Hazelgrove scored his first Group 1 success when his hard chasing Fabulous Storm (\$22.80) held off a serious challenge from race favourite Dyna Double One (\$2.00) to win the Garrard's Horse & Hound Winter Cup at Albion Park on Thursday night.

The honest sprinter took his record to 34 starts for 11 wins and 18 placings with the 29.83 win from the fast finishing Dyna Double One putting in a top effort for second after finding a bit of trouble early when he missed the start from box five. Keybow (\$8.00) finished third after leading through the first two seconds in 5.50 and 17.03.



Fabulous Storm hangs on to win Winter Cup from favourite Dyna Double One

Fabulous Storm begun well enough to put himself in a handy position racing into the first turn behind early leader Keybow, he quickly raced away from Dawkins Bale and set out after the leader down the back. Never leaving the fence he railed past Keybow approaching the home turn and once finding the lead he held on to win in an impressive hard chasing performance.

Continued on Page 2 ...

AUSTRALIAN GREYHDUND RAGING ASSUGIATION

It's fair to say after some early trouble Dyna Double One was close enough to the winner down the back straight to perhaps run him down but wasn't good enough.

I watched the race final in the Grandstand with leviathan owner Paul Wheeler and he was delighted for the Hazelgrove's. Stating it's great to see people that have been in the game a long time enjoy Group success. "The start is vital we all know that and he (Dyna Double One) just isn't consistence enough out of boxes. At the high level of racing you can't make mistakes." Wheeler said.

Reg Hazelgrove has been in the caper in Queensland for over 50 years was formerly a Pigeon trainer and a tradesman before going full time with the help of his family at their Park Ridge property. They only race their own bred dogs and breed a couple of litters a year.

Fabulous Storm's dam Whirly Storm was a great race bitch for the kennel she finished unplaced in the 2008 Brisbane Cup in a star studded field won by El Galo, and in 2009 ran second in the Queensland Futurity and unplaced in the National Futurity at the Gardens.

After the placed runners the field finished in the following order 4th Dawkins Bale (\$8.40), 5th Pop The Cork (\$3.60), 6th Flash Reality (\$14.20), 7th Yada Yada Yada (\$41.00) and Victory Prince (\$58.00).

Fabulous Storm is raced by the Hazelgrove Ptn Syndicate and trained by Reg Hazelgrove he is a Black dog whelped February 2013 by Fabregas from Whirly Storm (Black Enforcer x Cyclone Chrissy). Fabulous Storm has won 11 of his 35 starts and has been placed on 18 occasions and his current stake earnings stand at \$164,577.

The Winter Carnival Cup has taken on many different forms over the years and has been conducted also at different times during those years. It was first staged at the Gabba in 1978 and sponsored by famous Queensland brewing company Castlemaine XXXX and known as their Trophy, it was run over the testing 558 metre sprint course. It remained the Castlemaine XXXX Trophy right up until 1992 apart from one year in 1987 when it was called the Christmas Trophy. When racing moved to Albion Park in 1993 the race was called the Christmas Stocking for one year and it continued its Group 1 status that the race had gained in 1991 and maintains currently. The feature dropped back to Group 2 in 1997 and 1998, but returned to Group 1 in 1999. Like many other feature races around Australia in the 90's in was sponsored by the Pet food company Eukanuba from 1994 to 1997 and its subsequent company Nutrience in 1998 and 1999. It the year 2000 the club developed the now successful Winter Carnival at the suggestion of race caller John Brasch and the race became that Carnivals major Group 1 feature the Winter Carnival Cup. It has been won by some champion sprinters over the years and the following is but a few of those stars. Call Me Roscoe 81, Glanzend 82, Acacia Park 84, Dancing Gamble 87, Golden Fox 88, Highly Blessed 90, Iceni Princess 92, Toban Leah 94, Flying Amy 95, Roanokee 96, Wine Glass 97, Winged Runner 99, Mint Mojo 2001, Elite State 2003, 2004 Trewly Special, 2008 Made To Size and 2009 Trew Millions. Plus Tony Brett's four winners Iso Octane 2011 his great champion Glen Gallon 20012-13 and 2014 Flash Reality. Listed below is the full honour roll.

At the Gabba 1978 - 1992

At the Gubba 1070 1002			
YEAR	WINNER	TIME	
1978	Brigadier North	33.00	
1979	Katie's Disco	32.74	
1980	Wings Of Steel	32.92	
1981	Call Me Roscoe	32.84	
1982	Glanzend	32.60	

1983	Duration	32.91
1984	Acacia Park	32.90
1985	Amber Flash	32.89
1986	(Jan) Sharyn's Vogue	33.08
1986	(Dec) Fifi She's Not	32.61
1987	Dancing Gamble	32.75
1988	Fifi She's Not	32.61
1989	Son of Ella	32.63
1990	Highly Blessed	32.47
1991	Soldier On	32.60
1992	Iceni Princess	32.93

At Albion Park 1993- Present

YEAR	WINNER	TIME
1993	National Leader	30.39
1994	Toban Leah	30.35
1995	Flying Amy	29.99
1996	Roanokee	30.06
1997	Wine Glass	30.34
1998	Shady Macbeth	30.28
1999	Winged Runner	30.19
2000	Short Model	30.00
2001	Mint Mojo	30.59
2002	Awesome Machine	30.11
2003	Elite State	29.97
2004	Trewly Special	30.16
2005	Hades Rocket	29.90
2006	Fenceline	29.92
2007	Big Swell	30.06
2008	Made To Size	30.39
2009	Trew Millions	30.17
2010	Event Not Held	
2011	Iso Octane	29.93
2012	Glen Gallon	29.86
2013	Glen Gallon	29.80
2014	Flash Reality	29.71

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown
AGRA Publicity Officer

Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au Howard Ashton AGRA Executive Officer Tel: 08 8243 7100

Mob: 0438 042 838